meg loudon Iglac 2016Meg Loudon from Coffee Brothers in Mona Vale, New South Wales is the 2016 International Grand Latte Art Champion.

Hosted by Danes Specialty Coffee, Meg took out the top spot on Friday 19 August in front of a packed house at Chatswood‘s Victoria Bar and Grill.

Zhao Ting Wu of Cote Terra was runner up and Andy Wong of Harvest Blend placed third, both from Victoria.

The event saw the region’s top baristas showcasing their artistic flair and competing for the title of top latte artist.

Riverina Fresh milk and SanRemo Australia sponsored the competition, which featured a prize pool worth more than $10,000.

Meg beat out a highly experienced field of 54 latte artists to take out the title, winning herself a giant cheque for $3500. Zhao won $1500 and Andy won $500.

IGLAC 2015 winner Sam TaylorSam Taylor won first place in the inaugural Danes International Grand Latte Art Championship, held at Café Pyd in Waterloo, New South Wales on 7 August 2015.

The Head Barista at The Baron in Castle Hill out-poured 36 top latte artists to win the $3000 first prize and a Specialty Coffee Association of America (SCAA) Level 1 and Level 11 Training Package.

Sam Lowe of Atomic Coffee Roasters took out second place and Axl Chan of The Bunker Café in Darlinghurst came in third.


GBC_2012_registration_openThe 2013 Danes Grand Barista Championship was held as part of HOFEX, in Hong Kong. This year's winner was ‘Gigi’ Benyapa Naowan. For the first time since the DGBC’s inception, it was won by a barista from Thailand, with second place going to Hong Kong. This truly amazing feat for both countries showed how they used the DGBC as an espresso standard and with this, improved the overall standard in their respective countries - all in a space of just four years.


2012 winner Paul Asquith

Congratulations to all the winners of the Danes Grand barista Championships (GBC) and Grand Latte Art Competition (GLAC) on Tuesday 28th August  2012 at the Specialty Food & Drink Fair Darling Harbour.

Kim Yeong from Hong Kong was the winner of GLAC and $2,000 provided by Riverina Fresh with an amazing presentation of latte art creations against some just as amazing competition presentations.

Paul Asquith was the winner of the Australian GBC on Monday and also backed up on Tuesday to take out the Australasian final and $5,000 provided by Danes in a performance that kept getting better the more he presented it.

The coffee and the competitor standard throughout the championships was outstanding and a joy to watch and to host. Thank you again to all the industry judges who gave up their time, our wonderful sponsorswho were of great support and to the entire Danes team that worked perfectly together to host a truly inspiring event.


2011_winnersOur 2011 GBC saw the successful introduction of the new format which included the “Other Black” which was a hit. It was also the first time the GBC Australasian final was held outside of Australia in Bangkok Thailand. The strength and depth of the Australian espresso industry was still too much for the rivals once again with Sasa Sestic taking the GBC trophy back to Australia. Second place was Miss Lukkana Daoprai from Bangkok with third place going to Miss Pachirada Suklor.


2010_winnersCongratulations to Alex Stathis who became our 2010 Australasian Danes Grand Barista Champion held at Freshwater Sydney. Alex competed in the 2009 championships and was a close second. After backing up again she was a stand out on the day with her creative floating handmade wax cups for the latte art part of her presentation. Second place Johnny Pisanelli came from Adelaide to compete and Erin Sampson came up from Melbourne to compete.


gbc2009 winnerThe 2009 GBC was held on Sat August 15, 2009 at Manly Yacht Club (Sydney).  For the first time in GBC History winners from the Thailand and Hong Kong GBC were represented to make it a truly Australasian final. The winner on the day was Jesse Hyde who came from Melbourne and returned for another shot at the title after coming second in the 2008 GBC. Second place was Alexandra Stathis and third place was Luke Elkhuizen.



2008_winnersThe 2008 Grand Barista Championship was held on Saturday 21st June, 2008 at the Manly Yacht Club.  Congratulations to Habib Maarbani who took out first place and is the 2008 Grand Barista.  The second and third places went to Jessie Hyde and David Seng respectively.  Mark Bell and Angus Mackie who also scored very well.  Thank you to all those who competed.

2006, 2007
Not held

2005 WinnersIn our fifth year of the GBC our winner was a woman for the first time. Congratulations to Cassy Anne Lawry from Victoria who was also the first interstate entrant to take the title away from Sydney in her second attempt. Second place also went to an interstate competitor, David Makin, from Victorian who came second last year.  Competitors from around Australia including Queensland, Western Australia and South Australia put in strong presentations. One of our own young aspiring baristas from Danes, Matthew Brown from Sydney placed third.

2004_winnersDanes Gourmet Coffee Institute 2004 Grand Barista Champion is Dom Majdandzic with 2nd place Scott Callaghan and 3rd David Maken.  It was standing room only as the baristas tamped and textured their way through the judging criteria.   On hand to assess their performances were some of Australia's finest judging talent including last year's World Barista Champion - Paul Bassett and the current National Champion Maico Lapenna.
2003_winnerCongratulations to Alex Klum who is the Grand Barista Champion 2003, seen here in action in another exciting, close fought grand final.

2002_winnerAfter 3 days of heats, 6 finalists including Maico Lapenna, the 2001 title holder, battled it out for the 2002 Grand Barista Championship. The winner was Jai Gabbard from Manly.

2001_finalistsThe grand finals for the grand final barista competition proved to be an exciting battle to the final moment. The competition was fierce and the standard of performance excellent! Finding a winner amongst the talent on show was a difficult task indeed however the TGCI would like to congratulate Maico LaPenna who is this year's Grand Barista.

About the GBC

Care, attention, intention and passion. There's a coffee maker, then there's a barista - just like the difference between a cook and a chef.

Paul Jackson
Danes Gourmet Coffee